Route and Above Ground Installations

The pipeline starts at the Georgia-Turkey border (Ardahan-Posof) and terminates on the Turkish-Greek border (Edirne-İpsala) after passing through 20 provinces (Ardahan, Kars, Erzurum, Erzincan, Bayburt, Gümüşhane, Giresun, Sivas, Yozgat, Kırşehir, Kırıkkale, Ankara, Eskişehir, Bilecik, Kütahya, Bursa, Balıkesir, Çanakkale, Tekirdağ and Edirne) and 67 districts in Turkey. The route passes 600 villages and connects to the Trans Adriatic Pipeline (TAP), which transmits natural gas to European countries.

The pipeline will link to the Turkish national natural gas transmission network in two locations – Eskişehir and Thrace. The TANAP system consists of a total of 1,811kilometers of pipeline, 2x17.5 kilometers of which pass below the Marmara Sea; and a number of above-ground facilities, including:

  • 2 Compressor Stations (Once the transmission capacity increases to 31 bcm, the number of Compressor Stations will be increased to 7),
  • 4 Metering Stations,
  • 11 Pigging Stations,
  • 49 Block Valve Stations,
  • 3 gas off-take stations, 2 of which feed the national natural gas network in Turkey and 1 connecting to the international natural gas network in Europe via the Trans Adriatic Pipeline connection.
  • The 1,339-kilometer section of the pipeline between Ardahan and Eskişehir, referred to as Phase 0 has a diameter of 56”, while the 455-kilometer section from Eskişehir to İpsala on the Greek border is called Phase 1, and has a diameter of 48”. The 17.5 km Çanakkale Strait Crossing, on the other hand, is made with a 36” diameter twin pipeline.

    The transmission capacity of the pipeline will be 16 billion cubic meters at the outset, but will be increased to 24 billion cubic meters and then to 31 billion cubic meters in the coming years with additional investments.